google-site-verification: googlee7d21a0086eae0fe.html X-Men – Cherry the Geek Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here <
July 26th, 2018 by Cherry

“When I launched Long Beach Comic Con back in 2009, my hope was simply to create a meaningful and enjoyable event for fans of all ages, and give something back to the comic community that supported me for many years,” said Martha Donato, President of MAD Event Management. “To be sitting here today, planning for our 10th edition, and reflecting on all we’ve accomplished in those years, is both humbling and energizing.” 

It’s been ten years since the first annual Long Beach Comic Con and this year they are celebrating with Black Panther, DC Super Hero Girls, Deadpool, Guardians of the Galaxy, Static Shock, X-Men, Battlestar Galactica, Power Rangers and the Emmy-nominated Twin Peaks for fans of TV, Movies, Comic Books, Wrestling and Cosplay. LBCC diverse selection that welcomes people from all walks of fandom also want to show love with the STEM educational Space Expo and the GeekFest Film Festival! AND they want to nurture C in Long Beach Comic Con with a comic book industry-only companion event before LBCC for industry vets and newcomers to connect. This year the Long Beach Comic Con at the Long Beach Convention Center in Long Beach, California is September 8-9, 2018!


I’m excited to attend LBCC and enjoy my first love of comic books/graphic novels. I’m hoping to buy a few that I grew up loving (PowerPac, Amethyst) as well as getting to know new books from independent artists that I haven’t seen. This year’s Guest of Honor, Eisner Award-nominated comic book writer and novelist Christopher Priest (Black Panther, Static Shock) is making his Long Beach Comic Con debut this year and I’m SHOOK! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Static Shock and Black Panther (Wakanda FOREVER) so can’t wait to hear him talk about his career and (fingers crossed) a live action Static Shock after the success of Black Panther. LBCC is giving attendees the opportunity to see new characters from Aspen Comics, Prism Comics, Top Cow and AfterShock that has an exclusive LBCC #1 edition cover a cover by interior artist Wesley St. Claire (who will be attending the show as a special guest) of their new series BEYONDERS with Charon Comics, Los Comex and Valiant Comics (in partnership with Los Angeles-area retailer The Comic Bug). They have a great list of guests that fans will be excited to see and hear on panels! they include acclaimed cartoonist Jaime Hernandez, legendary writer Marv Wolfman, Dean Haspiel and Jonathan Ames (co-creators of the landmark graphic novel The Alcoholic), DC Super Hero Girls artist Yancey Labat, Border Town co-creator Eric M. Esquivel, Deadpool artist Scott Koblish, The Magic Glasses co-creator Melina Chavarria, My Little Pony artist Tony Fleecs, comics/animation writer Mairghread Scott (Guardians of the Galaxy) and many others. Long Beach Comic Con will additionally host over 250 vendors, celebrity guests and several renowned cosplayers. The full list of confirmed special guests is available here: http://longbeachcomiccon.com/guests.

In addition to the comic programming, this year’s festivities will include:

  • LBCC’s Cosplay Contest: The West Coast’s most inventive and artistic costuming wizards show off their fantastic talents and compete in a variety of fun categories for a grand prize.
  • KnokX PRO Wrestling Ring: Where comics and pro wrestling collide — featuring pro-wrestler RIKISHI!
  • GeekFest Film Festival: Two solid days of indie movie bliss, often with the filmmakers themselves on hand.
  • Comic Creator Conference: A September 7th event designed to connect professional comic creatives with other high-level industry professionals to empower them with exclusive and personal insight, as well as provide access to decision makers, peers, publishers, and other leaders within the industry. Note that this event has a separate fee for entry and is open to industry professionals ONLY.
  • Space Expo: A con-within-a-con experience that’s all about space exploration! Featuring experts in their respective scientific fields, kids (or big kid adults) can have fun with science-based interactive experiments! Space Expo’s Guest of Honor is Herbert Jefferson Jr, who portrayed Lt. Boomer on the classic series Battlestar Galactica.
Long Beach Comic Con tickets are on sale NOW. Follow on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for more details on upcoming limited VIP packages, photo ops and more announcements about new guests and programming. Kids 10 and under get in FREE! For additional information go to LongBeachComicCon.com and for tickets go to lbcc2018.eventbrite.com.

About MAD Event Management LLC 

MAD Event Management functions as an owner/operator of several events of many sizes and provides expert consultant services to companies seeking to establish, grow or improve their event business. We have years of experience managing all aspects of live events, including large scale consumer and trade shows, meetings, conferences and exhibitor execution. MAD owns and operates several pop culture conventions: Long Beach Comic Expo and Long Beach Comic Con, Long Beach, CA; New Jersey Comic Expo, Edison, NJ; C3: Comic Creator Conference; and C3: Havana, Cuba Edition. For more information, visit www.madeventmanagement.com.

Posted in Comic Books, Comic Con, Geek Fun, geek tv Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

March 9th, 2015 by Cherry

Can I just say that I REALLY wish I was rich and had won the Lotto a few months ago? So many items that I grew up loving that I really really want to have in my collection. They have a lot of great items but here’s my curated list of dream collectibles that would make my life my world and my nerd geekette dreams come true. Especially the Leonard Nimoy signed photo with William Shatner now I’ll never meet Mr. Spock! My only comfort is that I’m going to the Star Wars celebration in a month. But the idea of even one of these pieces will be haunting my dreams!

William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy Signed Star Trek TOS Photo18William Shatner & Leonard Nimoy Signed Star Trek TOS Photo

14 in. x 11 in. black & white semi-glossy photo featuring Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock from Star Trek The Original Series, signed by William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy.
Disney Star Wars Weekend 2004 Original Randy Noble Drawing21Disney Star Wars Weekend 2004 Original Randy Noble Drawing

Original blue pencil drawing by Disney artist Randy Noble for Star Wars Weekend 2004. The drawing plays homage to the iconic Star Wars poster with Min
Set of 3 Limited Edition Star Wars Lithographs Signed by Artist Dave Dorman 199622Set of 3 Limited Edition Star Wars Lithographs Signed by Artist Dave Dorman 1996Set of three 16 in. x 22 in. limited edition color lithograph featuring STAR WARS artwork by Dave Dorman. The artworks are entitled “Obi-Wan Ke…

Don Post Star Wars Darth Vader Collector Helmet Signed by Dave Prowse Twice23Don Post Star Wars Darth Vader Collector Helmet Signed by Dave Prowse Twice

Signed by Dave Prowse, who portrayed Darth Vader in the original trilogy, twice – on the forehead underneath the helmet and at the neck. In fine condition. From Private Collection.
Don Post Star Wars C-3PO Vintage 1977 Mask Signed by Anthony Daniels & Bill Malone24Don Post Star Wars C-3PO Vintage 1977 Mask Signed by Anthony Daniels & Bill Malone

Original vintage 1977 Star Wars C-3PO soft rubber mask by Don Post Studios. Signed by Anthony Daniels, who portrayed C-3PO in all six Star Wars films…
Don Post Star Wars Boba Fett Helmet Signed by Jeremy Bullock25Don Post Star Wars Boba Fett Helmet Signed by Jeremy Bullock

Star Wars Boba Fett mask/helmet, cast from the original mold by Don Post Studios. Signed on the left side of the helmet by Jeremy Bullock, who portray
Prop Replicator and Conceptual Art Print from Stargate SG-1 Episode "Small Victories"29Prop Replicator and Conceptual Art Print from Stargate SG-1 Episode “Small Victories”

Conceptual art print from Stargate SG-1 (MGM Television, 1997-2007) Art Department. Mounted with an original prop Replicator used during the production ….
Movie Sci-Fi & Fantasty AuctionOnline OnlyA collection of props & costumes from Sci-Fi and fantasy themed movies, ranging from TerminatorStar Trek and Starship Troopers to X-MenJurassic Park and Star Wars.Provenance: Private Collections

All items come with a Blacksparrow Auctions certificate of authenticity.

Click here to register and bid.

Posted in art, Business, Geek Fun, geek tv, Los Angeles Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 28th, 2012 by Cherry

Long Beach Comic & Horror Con 2012LBCHC is having some great guests this year with the addition of Len Wein who’s the co-creator and current Ben 10: Omniverse writer.

Of course those of you who are comic book/animation fans you probably love him for his work on co-creating Swamp Thing, Wolverine, X-Men, and The Human Target, and writing for Justice League America, Amazing Adventures, Green Lantern, Batman, and Before Watchmen.  I hope to have the opportunity to interview him to ask about his work on the hush hush Batman project!

Now for those who are comic book and animation fans He’ll be available for signings and discussions over the weekend at booth #1806.

 

 

Posted in Animated, horror Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: